Iger Logo

Public Affairs, Government & Community Relations, Advocacy



All Politics is Local


June 2009


Welcome to another edition of All Politics is Local, a non-partisan unbiased selection of local political news from Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Imperial counties.


In This Issue

City of Riverside Election Winners

Public Officials on the Move

Local Officials Running for Higher Office




City of Riverside June 3, 2009 Election Results
City Council, Ward 2: Andy Melendrez (incumbent) - 69.03%
City Council, Ward 4: Paul Davis (defeated incumbent Frank Schiavone) - 52.50%
City Council, Ward 6: Nancy E. Hart (incumbent) - 59.64%




Orange County


Huntington Beach: City Manager Fred Wilson appointed (previously San Bernardino City Manager)


Los Alamitos: City Manager Jeffrey Stewart appointed (previously El Segundo City Manager)

Los Alamitos: Councilmember Troy Edgar appointed Mayor, to replace Dean Grose who resigned


Los Alamitos: Constantine "Dean" Zarkos appointed Councilmember, to replace Dean Grose who resigned


Newport Beach: City Manager Homer Bludau announced he will retire in September 2009

OCTA: Interim CEO Jim Kenan (previously OCTA executive director of finance and administration) appointed to replace Art Leahy, who left to become Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority CEO


Villa Park: City Manager Lori Sassoon (previously San Bernardino Assistant City Manager) appointed to replace Ken Domer, who left to become Assistant City Administrator in Placentia


Riverside County


CVAG: Executive Director Tom Kirk (previously La Quinta City Councilmember) appointed to replace John Wohlmuth, who left to become the Palm Desert City Manager


Desert Hot Springs: City Councilmember Jan Pye (a financial analyst with Desert Oasis Healthcare, previously appointed to city council from 1999 through 2001) appointed to replace Al Schmidt, who resigned


La Quinta: City Councilmember Linda Evans (associate administrator for Business Development at John F. Kennedy Memorial Hospital in Indio) appointed to replace Tom Kirk, who left to become CVAG Executive Director


Menifee: City Manager George Wentz appointed to permanent position (previously interim City Manager for Menifee)


Norco: Interim City Manager Beth Groves (previously Corona City Manager) appointed to replace Jeff Allred, who left to become Rosemead City Manager

Palm Desert: City Manager John Wohlmuth (previously CVAG Executive Director) appointed to replace Carlos Ortega, who retired



San Bernardino County

Colton: Interim City Manager Bob Miller (previously Colton Police Chief) appointed to replace Daryl Parrish, who left to become Covina City Manager


Loma Linda: City Manager Jarb Thaipejr (previously Loma Linda Public Works Director) appointed to replace Dennis Halloway, who retired


San Bernardino: City Manager Charles McNeely (previously Reno City Manager) appointed to replace Fred Wilson, who left to become the Huntington Beach City Manager



Imperial County


Holtville: City Councilmember Jerry Brittsan (former councilmember) appointed to replace Julieta Durazo, who reisgned




These are the candidates confirmed to date.  We will continue to update you as new local officials enter races for higher office.





Running for California State Assembly - 68th District

Costa Mesa Mayor Allan Mansoor

Incumbent Van Tran is termed out


Running for California State Assembly - 70th District
Tustin Councilmember
Jerry Amante

Irvine Councilmember Stephen Choi
Incumbent Chuck DeVore is termed out


Running for Orange County Supervisor - 4th District
Orange County Clerk-Recorder Tom Daly

La Habra Councilmember Rose Espinoza

Fullerton Councilmember Shawn Nelson
Anaheim Councilmember Harry Sidhu

Incumbent Chris Norby is termed out


Running for Orange County Clerk-Recorder

Orange County Supervisor Chris Norby

Incumbent Tom Daly is running for County Supervisor


Running for United States Congress - 48th District

Irvine Councilmember Beth Krom

Incumbent is John Campbell





Running for California State Senate - 36th District

Riverside County Supervisor Jeff Stone

Incumbent Dennis Hollingsworth is termed out


Running for United States Congress - 45th District

Palm Springs Mayor Steve Pougnet

Incumbent is Mary Bono



Running for California State Assembly - 63rd District

Rancho Cucamonga Mayor Don Kurth 

Fontanta Mayor Pro Tem Acquanetta Warren

Incumbent Bill Emmerson is termed out



We hope you enjoyed this issue of our Newsletter!




Iger & Associates Team


Join Our List

Join Our Mailing List


Main Office:              

2102 Business Center Drive, Suite 130       

Irvine, California 92612